Ramblings to the God of Programming

simi
4 min readFeb 3, 2020
Photo by twinsfisch on Unsplash

To the God of Programming,

Dear God,

I am about to begin this programming project. I will be frank with you. I really don’t know how it works with Your awe in this particular aspect.

I know with my school work, you grant me the wisdom to assimilate what I am reading and most importantly to recall what I need to write in exams.

I know that with provision, you direct jobs my way so I can get paid and like that I can provide for myself.

But with programming I really don’t know where you come in.

Maybe this is the part where your mysteries are actually in play.

Cos I don’t necessarily need to remember all the syntax of the programming language. I will StackOverflow the entire project already.

I really don’t need to know the big words of the language. And lately I have being hearing that dumb code is the clean code. So the algorithms I have never learned might not come to play today.

I could have prayed that you let my code run once. But if it is buggy, do I want it run once? No. I don’t want that. So don’t let my code run if there are bugs.

Though I know that I sometimes claps my hand to pray when I press Crtl + F5, but I really don’t want the program to run if it has bugs.

I also want to pray that when I see the bugs, I be able to correct it. But then strong internet connection could make my “prayers” answered because my IDE already specifies the source of the problem. I just need to connect to … yeah you know it, StackOverflow. Most times it is missing packages, package version incompatibility.

Sometimes the bug that I am finding might also be that I need to take a break to solve it.

So I know I cannot pray about that one also.

So dear God of programming, I wish I could state my prayers in clear terms. But I don’t know how I want you to come in, or if there is any need for you to come in. Though from Sunday school, they say you should be involved in all our activities. So please do come in.

Sometimes I pray for miracles, but this project I don’t want a miracle cos then I would not be able to explain to investors how everything is working. No one is going to give me money if I tell then, “it works based on a miracle”, I know if you were ever also going to be an investor, you would not want in, right?

You said it already, “No one builds or takes on a project without counting the cost”. So I know already, I don’t have your money.

There is process, though I would be happy if there was none. But this is the path We [me, You] have chosen.

So dear God, when I bend my knees to pray about a programming task. I am lost of words. Come to think of it, You also said, “ask and it shall be given” but in this case. I really don’t have something specific to ask cos I don’t know what I want. Sure, I want the program to run, but I want no miracles, I want the process. Everything, the good, the bad, the ugly.

And knowing fully well that you know my heart, I pray that you be around. Maybe we can chat about a thing or two. Or you can help see how your work is displayed in this programming project. But until then come have a part in this programming project but no miracles, make every bug show, bugs in production are a disaster.

Or…

Maybe I have being looking at it the wrong way. Maybe the Magnificent God is available for the “supposedly tiny” things.

Like implementing a function “GiveaBeerTo18yearolds” and calling “GiveBeerTo18yearold” and I have being growing gray hair debugging this particular error CS20987.

Or the ability to be able to read my code again because laziness has crept in. I wrote it, it needs no improvement.

Maybe Your act is to help me to see that I am not a 10x developer, and that 1x developers change the world by re-reading their code and re-writing it.

But dear God, hope you understand my rambling and that it comes from the purest form of respect for you. I would never take you for granted.

Thank you.

--

--

simi

I write about software and at other times about not-software